Nile Rodgers and Esa-Pekka Salonen Win Prestigious Polar Music Prize

Published March 12, 2024

In a celebratory announcement, Chic's Nile Rodgers, a seminal figure in disco music, and Esa-Pekka Salonen, a trailblazer in classical composition and conducting, have been named the laureates of the 2024 Polar Music Prize. This prestigious award is a beacon of recognition for outstanding contributions to the world of music. Rodgers and Salonen are set to receive the prize at a gala in Stockholm on May 21, alongside a cash award of one million Swedish kroner, approximately US$95,000.

Nile Rodgers: A Disco Legend

An iconic presence in the music industry, Nile Rodgers is acknowledged for his trailblazing contributions to dance music through his work with the celebrated band Chic. His influence extends well beyond disco, having penned hits for a constellation of stars including David Bowie, Diana Ross, and Madonna. Rodgers' artistry continues to resonate today, affirming his status as a music legend whose work transcends time.

Esa-Pekka Salonen: Classical Music Visionary

Esa-Pekka Salonen, with a career highlighted by his innovative conductorial leadership, has significantly impacted the classical music scene. His tenure with esteemed institutions such as the San Francisco Symphony and the Los Angeles Philharmonic has been marked by a quest for creative expression and technological innovation. Salonen's achievements underscore his dedication to making classical music accessible and relevant in the modern era.

The Polar Music Prize, founded by ABBA's manager Stig Anderson, seeks to honor individuals and institutions who have made exceptional contributions to music. This recognition serves to celebrate the diversity of the musical landscape and the universal language of music that connects individuals across the globe.

music, prize, award